the hit song was Ryan Cabrera’s True

I think many would agree with me when I say time flies so fast. Believe it or not, it’s already September.. (again.) Seems like it was just yesterday that I celebrated New Year’s Eve with a bunch of friends. I can construct so many sentences starting with ‘seems like it was just yesterday that….’ . And when it’s September, I can only think of one thing. Seem like it was just yesterday that I met with a new old-friend again.

It was eight Septembers ago. The year was 2005 and Ryan Cabrera’s True and Alicia Keys and Usher’s My Boo were the hit songs. I just resigned from my job to pursue my studies. An old friend had messaged me in friendster asking me out for coffee. He was back for Summer holidays cause he was studying abroad. We were good friends for a while after school but somehow we lost contact in between the seven years.

I remember it like it was yesterday. 1st September 2005. We were supposed to meet up at 2.00pm at San Franfancisco Coffee Sungai Wang but I turned up at 2.30pm. I chose the place to meet cause I wanted to buy a memory card. I was a bit nervous because I haven’t met with this guy since after school. Butwe had a nice time talking and catching up over coffee. I felt that I could really be myself and I felt so comfortable talking to him. I didn’t feel awkward at all even we hadn’t been talking for years. I knew that he was so into engineering when he talked about this high tech fast train in Hong Kong and I was fascinated at him being fascinated by it. At the end of the day, he texted me and said that he would love to hang out again someday. It was at that point that I found a best-guy-friend. From that moment on, we talked a lot almost everyday. After a while, we became closer and I was for sure that we were in the friendzone. Of course I like him but I didn’t want to jeopardize our friendship by telling him how I felt. But I guess it was fate that brought us together and I am so happy that we crossed path again. Love had found its way and we decided to become more than friends.

Time flies so fast. It was about 7 years that I lost contact with him. Now we have been together for 7 years. Before he flew back to Germany that summer, we were both so sad because it was September 2005 that we met again, became really good friends and fell in love. I told him that I didn’t want September 2005 to end. He asked me to wait for him and said that he will make sure that we will always have September 2005. He kept his promise and I kept mine.

He is now my husband and still is my bestfriend. I love him 🙂

Alhamdulillah I am eternally thankful.

1 thought on “the hit song was Ryan Cabrera’s True

Leave a comment