missed the bus

Everytime I take the 289 Bus from Büchenbach Nord to my work place, I know exactly what time I need to leave the house so that I won’t be too early or too late to catch the 8:36 bus. Yes. The bus leaves at precisely 8:36 and 8:56 and 9:16 and so forth every Monday – Friday. Somehow it has become a routine for me. What interests me though that there is this one guy, he rushes to the bus, every morning. With his hair wet and uncomb. I mean, it’s not like he doesn’t know what time the bus leaves. Why does he needs to rush? I have been observing him for quite sometime now and I said to myself, one day, he might just miss the bus going to work. True enough, one day, he really did miss the bus. As the bus driver moves, I see him running and chasing the bus, as expected, his hair being wet and uncomb. I tried so hard not to giggle. The thought that what I was thinking really happened amuses me. He thanked the bus driver for stopping and letting him enter the bus. This is very rare and most bus drivers would just driver away. The next day, I saw him coming early, this time his hair was dry and combed. When I entered the bus, he was already there and I thought, ‘boy you sure learned your lesson well’. A couple of times after that, he started with his old habit. Coming in late with wet and uncombed hair. And again, he missed the bus. Only this time the bus driver just drove away.

As I was travelling to my workplace I thought about the incident and how funny it is that one can learn a lesson very well. And how ironic that after a short while that one can forget about it. I guess that’s human. Only when we have missed the bus, that we wake up, and change ourselves to become a better person. And because we are humans, we sometimes take for granted that the bus will always be around waiting for us and giving us a chance..

I sure hope I won’t ever get the chance to miss that 289 Bus.

Leave a comment