the time of the year

Friday morning. And it’s raining and all you could think about is the weekend.

To be honest, this week went by very fast for me. Maybe because I went to ObiMarkt twice to get a gadget for our bicycle but both times I got it wrong and still have to go there again next week. Or maybe because I have been feeling that time goes by so fast (totally different from the song Unchained Melody) since I can’t even remember when. Is that a good or a bad thing? I’m not sure. But I just felt like writing in today. I developed this new habit which I wanna share with all of you. Productive Muslim says that you should try not to check your emails or facebook the first thing in the morning or the last thing before you go to sleep because it might distract your day or your night. So before I go to sleep I’d check out other sites pertaining to health, productivity or other things that makes me happy. And I have to say that it has slowly changed my lifestyle and also the way I think. Yeah sounds corny right? But try it and you will see what I mean.

On another note, Ramadhan is just around the corner. And I love Ramadhan. Somehow the air is fresher, the days are better, and everything is just so different. Even though fasting in most European countries will be about 18 hours or longer since it’s Summer but inshaAllah, I believe Allah will help us as He has helped me and the rest of other Muslims around Europe before. Of course I can’t help but to remember how I used to celebrate the first day of Ramadhan back in Malaysia. My mom would make caramel jagung, and meehun and all the nice² dishes on the first day of Ramadhan and we would all do Tarawikh after Iftar sometimes at home because our family members are quite big with my nephews and nieces.

When I was younger I would sit by the kitchen door and wait for Adzan from our Mosque to break fast. Sometimes I would sit and just wait with the Kurma in my hands right in front of my mouth and once I hear Allahuakbar I would recite the Doa as fast as I could and just pop the Qurma right into my mouth and gulp as much as air sirap as I could. Of course as I grew older I stopped doing that, but it’s nice to remember how silly I was back then 🙂

Ramadhan here is equally exciting. It’s a totally different experience for me. I am thankful that I have my husband with me and friends around who reminds me of home. This will be our third Ramadhan together inshaAllah and I look forward to it.

I had an amazing day today.I can’t write about it because it would sound so ordinary. But the feeling is amazing.It’s just something I’d like to keep it to myself. With that, I’d like to end this post by saying, always, always have good thoughts and good prayers and good wishes.. because Allah is always listening to you..

May you and me have a blessed Ramadhan 🙂

Leave a comment